ACT Distance Championships

2019 ACT 5000m Championships


Congratulations to our Woden Thunder athletes on their performances at the 2019 ACT 5000m Championships held at the AIS on the 2nd of February.

Capella Maguire won the U20 Womens event in a time of 18:18.88, whilst James Bartholomaeus took out the U20 Mens event in 16:41.36.

In the Open Mens event, Sean Hancock crossed the line second in 16:17.02, with Scott Tyo taking third place.


2018 ACT 3000m Championships


The ACT Junior, Open and Masters 3000m Championships were held on 17 November 2018 at the AIS Track & Field Centre, with Woden athletes achieving some great results.


The Women’s Open event saw Leanne Pompeani crossing the line first in 9:54.00, with Margaux Jacquet placing third.

Melissa Oloyede ran 12:03.06 to win the Women’s Masters event, improving on her  time from last year.

In the Men’s event, James Mason ran 10:02.30, with Scott Tyo not far behind in 10:30.70.


Other results were:

U20 Women          1st – Capella Maguire

U18 Women          2nd – Zoe Melhuish; and 4th –  Therese De Salis

U16 Women          1st – Jordyne Rauter

U14 Women          2nd – Lucinda Thompson

U16 Men                2nd – Luke Levay; and 5th – Matthew Tyo

U14 Men                3rd – Jacob Shepherd; and 4th – John Maguire


Well done everyone!


2017 Open 5000m Championships


The ACT Open 5000m Championships were held on Friday 3 February 2017 at the AIS Track and Field Facility.

The Open 5000m Championships was a mixed male and female event. Sean Hancock was third across the line in 16:21.47 with Leanne Pompeani running 16:56.53 to be the fastest woman.

Congratulations to you both!